Global reminders are sent before issue deadline. These reminders are send to all users watching the issue, reporter and assignee of the issue. Reminders are send before configured amount of time before actual due date of the issue. You can configure how many hours before issue deadline a reminder will be send. You could completely disable reminders if you want from the plugin configurations page. It is off by default.